Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There be Light

This week’s photo challenge is light, specifically including the light source in the photo rather than outside of it.

To me, the lights in this scene represent either relief or fear of the unknown. Is that my friend coming down the trail or a stranger? It reminds me of a movie scene, maybe a war movie, in which the lights emerge first from the swirling dust of the dusk and there are a few apprehensive seconds before I know if they are enemy lights or friendly lights. And is that a weapon in his hand? But just behind the lights, breaking out of the dust now, is everything else–the ATV, the familiar shape of Jim, his cell phone, and, yes, our dogs running alongside the ATV. Relief and a smile overcome me.

058a

To see more photos in this week’s photo challenge:

Weekly Photo Challenge:  Let There Be Light

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sun
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 09:20:46

    a mystery scene for sure…good one with the dogs running alongside ☺

    Reply

  2. farfetchedfriends
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 09:37:29

    Ha! Looks like Arizona. “Let there be dust!” Hehehehe.

    Reply

  3. Naomi Baltuck
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 02:25:46

    Loved the photo and the description too.

    Reply

  4. theclocktowersunset
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 23:02:54

    Randee, I can’t comment on 3:44, it won’t let me. But let me say what a great post, I’m so envious that you have such a wonderful life with your children. Ahhh, maybe someday…. You all are quite ‘photogenic’ and the smiles,,,,, could brighten any room. 🙂

    Reply

    • randee
      Dec 02, 2013 @ 07:24:08

      Oh, thanks for the kind words and for going to the trouble of commenting on a different post. I tried to fix the comment section on that post. Will you check it out for me?

      Yes, I have a pretty good life with the girls! I can’t complain; things could be much harder with two teenagers.

      “envious” and “maybe someday…” Another side of you!

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera
  6. evilnymphstuff
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 23:05:10

    That’s an amazing photo!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light | Missionary IOU 差情尋

Kindly Leave a Thought: